Surviving Graduate School

As someone still at the very beginning of her graduate career, at times (okay, a lot of the time) the expectations can be quite overwhelming.  Recently I was talking to an old friend and she asked, “How is school?  How is life?”  I laughed… “I think life and school are the same thing right now,” I replied.  Because that is how it feels.

Anyway, on days like today when it snowed 6″ overnight (and is still snowing) and the world still seems to be asleep when I leave my house at 6:45am, it’s nice to know that others have gone before me and have made it through.  And it’s nice to know that others are going through it right now and managing to make it work for them.  If you have a chance, Simply Bike has a great post on “tips for getting through graduate school”, and in general is a wonderful blogger who writes on academia, parenthood, biking, and life.

What encourages you to keep going?

4 thoughts on “Surviving Graduate School

  1. Taking dancing lessons and going to ballroom dancing parties was what kept me sane. It wasn’t that big of a commitment each week – a dance party on a Friday night 1-2 times per month when I was honestly too brain dead to do any school work and a lesson here and there as I could afford it, but it was fun, it was exercise and helped contribute to a small bit of sanity.

  2. Thank you for the shout out and the kind words about my site!

    As for grad school and life being one and the same – I’ve been there! It definitely felt like that for a long time but I think I’ve gotten a lot more productive in my work since I let go of that tight grip on academia and have allowed myself to live a lot more outside of the ivory tower. I enjoy my work more now that it doesn’t consume me.

    Best of luck with your research and writing!

    PS: Your work sounds fascinating based on your About page. Looking forward to reading more about it on the blog!

    • Thanks for stopping by! I’ve long admired your blog and was glad to be able to link to you. I actually meant to email you earlier today but ran out of time during my break… Anyway, I appreciate your comment. I feel like that’s something I can definitely do a bit more (er… less?).

Leave a Reply

